IF YOU HAVE BEEN CHARGED WITH A FAILURE TO SIGNAL
VIOLATION YOU WILL GET 2 POINTS ON YOUR NJ LICENSE
A Summons for Failure to Signal (39:4-126) will cost you two points on your license and as
described below possible other penalties.
In New Jersey It is the general rule that you must make your intent known by using your right or left signal at
least 100 feet prior to turning or switching lanes. If you fail to do this you will be facing two points on your
drivers license and a ticket for failure to signal a turn. If an accident happened and mandatory court
appearance is checked on your ticket In addition, to the two points you could also receive up to 15 days in
jail. (note that unless your offense involves an accident with serious injury it is very rare, but possible for a
judge to impose jail).
The Points associated with this ticket can cost you dearly on your insurance. Each point on your license
could increase your insurance rates on average $600 - $1200 per year for 3 years. For Insurance purposes it
takes 3 years from the date of your violation/conviction for the points to be eliminated off your insurance.
That is why a conviction for this offense should be fought with proper legal representation. As the cost will
be much less than most insurance companies charge in just the first year.
Lastly remember if you get too many tickets or points you could lose your license. If you lose your license,
you could lose your job, your house and all that is important to you! Don't go it alone we can help. Call our
office at 1-800-9-RIGHTS or (732) 257-5040 to setup a free in office consultation to find out how we can
possibly help you reduce or eliminate these penalties. You have rights, but you must know how to protect
them we can help.
** Additional penalties may apply if violation occurs within 1000 feet of school property or school crossing zone for all offenses. Additional penalties can
also apply in a construction or safe neighborhood zone. H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C. Main office address: 39 Milltown Road, East Brunswick, N.J.
08816. Please consult the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice and Motor Vehicle Laws for complete details on all fines and penalties as the penalties
listed in this notice are for informational purposes on offenses we have handled and reduced in the past.*98% Success rate is based on past cases.
Past performance is not indicative of future performance and each case is fact sensitive, thus, the need for the in office consultation for the attorney to
evaluate your case. Some penalties may not apply to out of state residents please consult an attorney in your state of residence. All penalties listed for a
failure to signal a lane change in New Jersey are accurate as of December 7, 2019 but are subject to change at any time without notice.
Protect Your Rights
2019 Copyright H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.
Failure to Signal Lane Changet in New Jersey
|G-10 Brier Hill Court, East Brunswick, NJ 08816
1028 Route #23 North, Wayne, NJ 07470
|98% Success Rate to Win, Reduce or
Eliminate the Penalties for
NJ Failure to Signal Tickets
|Fight Your Failure to Signal Ticket - Eliminate Points - Keep Your Clean Record