|H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.
Attorneys at Law
G-10 Brier Hill Court, East Brunswick, N.J. 08816
1028 Route #23 North, Wayne, N.J. 07470
1-800-9-RIGHTS or (732) 257-5040
IF YOU HAVE BEEN CHARGED WITH A STOP OR YIELD SIGN VIOLATION
(39:4-144) You will get 2 POINTS on your NJ Drivers License
Except for Speeding Tickets a Stop or Yield Sign Violation (39:4-144) is one of the most common ticket issued. The
reason for this is that a police officer can just sit at a stop sign all day and it is estimated that one out of 4 people will
fail to wait the required three seconds before proceeding through the stop sign. However, even if you wait the
required time for the stop sign you must remain stopped until all traffic has passed. You may not go through a stop
sign or a yield sign if any other traffic is present.
As the economy soured and towns can no longer raise taxes without taxpayer revolts many jurisdictions
are turning to law enforcement to serve as silent part-time tax collectors, with badges. Although stop or yield sign
ticket may only raise a hundred or so dollars for the State in regards to a fine, your ticket can cost you thousands
of dollars in increased insurance costs, by jeopardizing your ability to get preferred insurance rates, and
require you to purchase high-risk insurance.
The Points associated with a stop sign ticket can cost you dearly on your insurance. For Insurance purposes it takes
3 years from the date of your violation/conviction for the points to be eliminated off your insurance. That is why a
conviction for this offense should be fought with proper legal representation. The cost of representation is generally
less than what it would cost you in just your first years insurance premium increase.
Please note that if convicted of a stop sign violation and you are involved in an accident the judge could suspend
your license or even impose up to 15 days in jail. Although jail is rare it is possible. What is more likely and in the
discretion of the court is a suspension of your drivers license for a period of time. If this is your situation don't try to
handle this ticket yourself. If your license is suspended or you go to jail, you could lose your job, your house and all
that is important to you! Don't let this happen to you. Setup a free in office consultation and learn how we can help
you reduce or eliminate these penalties. You have rights, but you must know how to protect them we can help!
1) Eliminate Points
2) Reduce Insurance costs
3) Keep your record clean
4) Learn How by calling 1-800-9-RIGHTS to setup a free in office consultation
Call For A Free
In Office Consultation
Put Our Stop Sign Defense to Work for You!
We have a 98% Success Rate of Eliminating the Points on a Stop Sign or Yield Ticket in New Jersey
*98% Success Rate is based on past cases and is not a guarantee of a future result and applies to cases without accidents.
** Additional penalties may apply if violation occurs within 1000 feet of school property or school crossing zone for all offenses. Additional penalties can also apply in a construction or
safe neighborhood zone or if you have a CDL license and fail to stop or yield at a sign. H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C. Main office address: G-10 Brier Hill Court, East Brunswick, N.J.
08816. Please consult the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice and Motor Vehicle Laws for complete details on all fines and penalties as the penalties listed in this notice are for
informational purposes on offenses we have handled and reduced in the past. Past performance is not indicative of future performance and each case is fact sensitive, thus, the need
for the in office consultation for the attorney to evaluate your case. Some penalties may not apply to out of state residents please consult an attorney in your state of residence. All
penalties listed for a failure to signal a lane change in New Jersey are accurate at time of publishing but are subject to change at any time without notice.
2021 Copyright H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.
Stop or Yield Sign Ticket in NJ