New Jersey Theft, Second Degree (2nd Degree) Crime
Sentence: Up to 10 years in prison.  Ordinary Terms: Jail 7 to 10 years,
Fines and Probation plus 12 additional penalties listed click
here

A theft charge is a second degree crime if the value of the items are worth $75,000 or more or if:
•The property is taken by extortion;
•The property stolen is a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog and the
quantity is in excess of one kilogram;
•The property stolen is a person's benefits under federal or State law, or from any other source,
which the Department of Human Services or an agency acting on its behalf has budgeted for the
person's health care and the amount involved is $75,000 or more; or
•The property stolen is human remains or any part thereof.


New Jersey Theft, Third degree (3rd Degree) Crime
Sentence: Up to 5 years in Jail.  Ordinary Terms: 3 to 5 years in Jail, Fines and
Probation plus 12 additional penalties listed click
here

A theft charge is a third degree crime if the value of the items are worth more than $500, but
not more than $75,000
or if:
•The property stolen is a firearm (gun, rifle, pistol), or a motor vehicle, vessel, boat, horse, domestic
companion animal or airplane;
•The property stolen is a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog and the
amount involved is less than $75,000.00 or is undetermined and the quantity is one kilogram or less;
•It is in breach of an obligation by a person in his capacity as a fiduciary;
•It is by threat not amounting to extortion;
•It is of a public record, writing or instrument kept, filed or deposited according to law with or in the
keeping of any public office or public servant;
•The property stolen is a person's benefits under federal or State law, or from any other source,
which the Department of Human Services or an agency acting on its behalf has budgeted for the
person's health care and the amount involved is less than $75,000;
•The property stolen is any real or personal property related to, necessary for, or derived from
research, regardless of value, including, but not limited to, any sample, specimens and components
thereof, research subject, including any warm-blooded or cold-blooded animals being used for
research or intended for use in research, supplies, records, data or test results, prototypes or
equipment, as well as any proprietary information or other type of information related to research;
•The property stolen is a New Jersey Prescription Blank as referred to in; or
•The property stolen consists of an access device or a defaced access device.
•Improper Use of Credit Card may be charged as a 4th or 3rd Degree Theft Charge based on the
amount charged see below for penalties for 4th degree theft offenses ($500.00 or less).



New Jersey Theft Charge Fourth degree (4th Degree) Crime
Sentence: Up to 18 Months in Jail, Fines and Probation plus 12 additional penalties
listed click  
here

Theft is a crime of the fourth degree if  the value of the items are worth more than $200, but
not more than $500.  If the theft is
by means of a credit card the crime could be charged as either a
third or 4th degree crime depending on how the credit card theft is charged by the police and
prosecutor even if the amount taken is between the normal $200 to $500 limit for 4th degree grade
theft offenses.

Examples of credit card theft include: having two or more credit cards in your possession that have
names other than your own even if the cards are never used.  Using a card that has someone else’s
name on it , creating a false credit card, to use a credit card even though the account has been
closed, or even to sign a credit card when the signer is not the named person on the credit card.

Credit card theft is a specific form of a theft crime that is unrelated to the "value" of the theft.


NJ Theft - Disorderly Persons Charge
Sentence: Up to 6 Months in Jail up to $1000.00 in fines, and Probation

A theft charge is classified as a disorderly persons charge (considered a misdemeanor in most states)
under New Jersey law if the amount involved is under $200.  This means that the amount alleged to
have been taken must be no more than $200.00 in value.  Value refers to the maximum retail value of
an item and not a sale price or a price the company may have paid for the item when acquired.  

This is a criminal offense on your criminal record although called a disorderly persons charge.  This is
because,
NJ does not have a misdemeanor or felony classification for theft crimes.  Thus a theft charge
will be marked on the NCIC database as a criminal offense even though it is not considered a criminal
offense in the State of New Jersey.  Employers are free to consider a persons charged with a disorderly
person offense for theft
, a criminal.  The Disorderly persons offense charge for theft is the most
common grade of theft offense in the State of New Jersey.  But even though it is the lowest level the
record it leaves can be just as harmful as a 4th or 3rd degree offense for future employment, education
or travel.  Don't let your theft charge ruin your life, job or career.   Put Attorney H. Scott Aalsbergs 98%
Success rate to work for you and setup your free consultation to learn how we can help you avoid these
penalties.  The call is free the results will last a lifetime.
Unbeatable Success:
Over 10,000 cases won, reduced or
downgraded in New Jersey
Since 1992

Call
1-800-974-4487
Free Consultation
98% Success Rate of
Winning, Reducing, or
Eliminating the
Penalties our clients
are charged with!
New Jersey Theft Offenses Penalties for 2017
IN NJ THEFT OFFENSES are categorized into four different
degrees depending on the amount alleged to have been taken.  
Theft includes: shoplifting, receiving stolen property, failure to
return property, theft of services, fraud, writing bad checks,
credit card fraud or any action which would trick, fool, or extort
a person to lose an item, service, value, or money.
H. SCOTT AALSBERG, ESQ., P.C.
"When You Need The Best Theft Defense"
39 Milltown Road, East Brunswick, N.J. 08816
1028 Route #23 North, Wayne, N.J. 07470
1-800-9-RIGHTS or 1-800-974- 4487
Top 30 New Jersey Towns for Theft offenses we handle: Woodbridge NJ, Lawrence NJ, Edison NJ, Bridgewater NJ, Cherry Hill NJ, Atlantic City NJ, Jersey City NJ, Paramus NJ, Short Hills NJ, East Brunswick
NJ, Clifton NJ, Clark NJ, Elizabeth NJ, Wayne NJ, Secaucus NJ, Deptford NJ, Eatontown NJ, Roxbury NJ, Freehold NJ, Princeton NJ, Tinton Falls NJ, Paraums NJ, Ocean Township NJ, Burlington NJ,
Edgewater NJ, Springfield NJ, Holmdel NJ, Cinnaminson NJ, East Windsor NJ, North Brunswick NJ, Clark NJ Union NJ, Marlboro NJ, Piscataway NJ, Raritan NJ , Bridgewater NJ, Edison NJ and South
Plainfield NJ.
98% Success Rate of
Winning - Reducing or Eliminating the Penalties
For All NJ Theft Offenses
The Grades and Degrees of Theft Offenses in NJ
How To Win A Theft Offense
  1. It does not matter what you did, but what
    the prosecution can prove to show theft.
  2. Does the State have all of its witnesses
    available to testify.  Unless you have
    confessed to a crime the state will need
    a witness or evidence of theft.
  3. Even if you have confessed the state
    must prove that your confession was
    voluntary, free and knowing waiver of
    your rights against self incrimination
  4. Theft Offenses require a requisite state
    of mind in simple terms the state must
    prove that you knew or should of known
    that your actions were improper
  5. Many defenses exist to a theft offense,
    put Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg's 98%
    success rate to work for you and get the
    best defense because even if your did it,
    that does not mean that your guilty!
Website Terms of Use: Don't Be Afraid We Can Help You!.  Call our office now at 1-800-9-RIGHTS and set up a free in office with one of our Theft lawyers.  Don't let a mistake in judgment ruin your
future.  Free Consultations for theft are offered during normal business hours.   After hours consultations are available for a reasonable fee.   This website is for informational purposes only and
is not intended to give legal advise.  Additional penalties may apply to some theft offenders.  Past performance is not indicative of future performance and each case is fact sensitive, thus, the
need for the in office consultation for the attorney to evaluate your case.  Some penalties may not apply to out of state residents please consult an attorney in your state of residence.  All New
Jersey Theft penalties listed are accurate as of April 8, 2016 and are subject to change at any time without notice. *98% Success Rate of reducing, eliminating or winning the charges of a NJ Theft
Offense is based on past cases and is not indicative of future results for your charge.  Get the Best Theft Defense with our proven success rate.   We can help win the charges, but you must take
the first step and call to setup your free consultation, phones answered 24/7.  The call is free but the results and information learned in your free in office consultation could be priceless! Before
Making your choice of an Attorney, you should give this matter careful Thought. If this Advertisement is inaccurate or misleading, you may report same to the Committee on Attorney Advertising at
Hughes Justice Complex, P.O. Box 037, Trenton, New Jersey 08625. Copyright 201
7 HSA All rights Reserved.
New Jersey Theft Defense Lawyer: H Scott Aalsberg, Esq.
"When Only Winning Counts"
Free Consultation with an Experienced Theft Attorney
Call 1-800-9-RIGHTS To Learn How To Win!
The Importance of Starting your Lawyer
Representation Early in NJ Theft Offenses
The penalties if charged with a theft offense in NJ
are severe and all charges subject you to jail.  
However, not all theft cases are actually criminal in
nature.  Many times, prior to charges being filed, if
a client hires our office early enough we can prove
to the police how a theft case is not really a criminal
matter, but a civil matter.  This is best done prior to
charges being filed when the police are merely
investigating.  If you think you may be charged by
the police for theft don't wait call us today and learn
how we can help you.  If you have already been
charged for Theft we can still help.  Nearly all theft
offenses can be dropped dismissed, downgraded
or amended to another or lower offense.    A good
criminal theft attorney can represent you for a theft
case.  A great criminal theft attorney can have your
theft charges turned into a misunderstanding or
mistake and have your case transferred from a
criminal case to a civil matter or downgraded to
another or lower charge.  Put Attorney H. Scott
Aalsberg, Esq., 98% Success rate to work for you
and get the best defense for your theft offense.  
Because theft is a criminal offense, you need to
speak privately with a lawyer in the lawyers office
as all phone conversations today are monitored by
the government.  To protect you we only offer a
free in office consultation.  The consultation is free
but the results if you win or reduce your theft
charge could be priceless and will last a lifetime!
When You Need To Have The Best Theft Defense
Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.           Phone: (732) 257-5040
2C:20-3
Theft By Unlawful Taking

2C:20-3(b)
Theft of Title and Theft of
Lesser Interests

2C:20-4
Theft by Deception

2C:20-5
Theft by Extortion

2C:20-6
Theft of Property lost,
mislaid, or delivered by
mistake

2C:20-7
Receiving Stolen Property

2C:20-7.1
Fencing

2C:30-8
Theft of Services

2C:20-9
Theft by failure to make
required disposition of
property received

2C:20-10
Unlawful taking of means of
conveyance

2C:20-11
Shoplfiting

2C:20-13
Concealment of Material from
a Library

2C:20-16
Operation of facility for sale
of stolen automobile parts

2C:20-17
Use of Juvenile in theft of
automobiles

2C:20-18
Leader of auto theft
trafficking ring

2C:20-23
Computer Theft

2C:20-25
Computer Theft and
Elements of the Crime


2C:21-17 and
2C:21-17.3(b)
Trafficking in person
identifying Information.
In General The Degree of Theft is based on the amount taken:
Theft by unlawful taking is the most common theft charge in NJ and is the theft charge used when you don't fall in another  
specific category of theft.
Theft by deception is charged when trickery, use of false facts or you allow someone to have a false impression of true facts  
to gain possession of an item or value.  Theft by deception requires the victim to believe the perpetrator of the crime.
Theft by extortion is using threats physical or otherwise to gain possession of an item or value.  Theft by extortion in NJ
includes threating a person to take legal action wherein that person would not have the right to do so.
Theft of property is commonly charged when an item is mis-delivered to a person and that person does not give that item
immediately to the rightful owner, or fails to take the item/property/value to the nearest police station immediately upon receipt.  
A person may not keep property that he or she finds and must turn said property over to the police or store where found.
Receiving Stolen property is getting an item that a person knew or should have known was stolen.  This is a charge that is
commonly seen when a person pays under the usual value of the item or the person purchases a new product from a place
other than a store or common website.  The person does not need to have specific knowledge that the item was stolen.  
Selling or attempting to sell property that was stolen, that you knew or should have known was stolen
Getting or taking someones services without paying for or paying less than the full price.  Theft of services requires the actor
to have a purpose to get the service for free or at a discount to avoid full payment.
This theft offense most commonly occurs when a person fails to give or sell an item a person has purchased.  Such as a store
owner failing to deliver merchandise paid for when delivery was promised by a certain date.  
This theft offense most commonly occurs in real estate or car transactions when a person duplicates a signature to take a
deed or title to an item.
This theft offense involves a store and a person who has either not paid for an item, damaged an item, paid less than the value
asked for by the store for the item or a person concealed on their person an item.
This theft offense is generally charged when a person does not return a book or material from a library or takes a book or
material from a library without checking the item out.
This theft offense is generally charged when a person operates a "chop shop" sells stolen auto parts or exports or imports
stolen cars or parts.
This theft offense is generally charged when a person employs or uses a juvenile (child under 18) in the theft of a car or parts
of a car
This theft offense is generally charged when a person uses a computer or similar device (tablet and phones included) to steal
information data, or anything stored or used on or part of the computer.  Generally this offense is charged as 2C:20-25
Charged with Theft in NJ You Need The Best Defense
Learn How We Can Help You Win with a Free In Office Consultation
The Call is Free . . . The Results May Be Priceless . . .
Disorderly Persons Theft Offense: $.01 to $200.00
4th Degree Theft Offense: $200.01 to $500.00
3rd Degree Theft Offense: $500.01 to $75,000
2nd Degree Theft Offense: $75,000 plus
Specific NJ Theft Charges in NJ: With Lawyers Commentary By Type
H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., was ranked one of the
Top 10 Lawyers by the
National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys
Theft of Title and Theft of Lesser Interests is a theft which occurs when a person unlawfully transfers any interest in immovable
property of another to benefit himself (example collects rents for property not owned or sells a house not owned)
This theft offense is commonly called identity theft or identity fraud and is generally charged when a person buys, sells, uses or
steals a persons personal identifying information such as a social security number, date of birth etc.  This offense can also be
a Federal offense and can be charged as a 4th, 3rd or 2nd degree theft crime in NJ.
This theft offense is generally charged when a person uses a computer or similar device (tablet and phones included) to steal
information data, or anything stored or used on or part of the computer.  2C:20-25 can also be charged when someone
access's a computer purposefully or knowingly  without authorization or in excess of authorization.  This charged is most
commonly used when an employee with a password protected access uses that access in a way that exceeds the scope of
employment.   This is called the crime of inappropriate access. (See State v. Thompson)
This theft offense is generally charged when a person buys and sells car that he knew or should have known were stolen.