H. SCOTT AALSBERG, ESQ., P.C.
New Jersey Marijuana Defense Lawyers
1-800-9-RIGHTS - Serving All of NJ - Free Consultation - Get the Best Defense
Possession of Marijuana in New Jersey the Law:
2C:35-10.  Possession of Marijuana, Use or Being Under the Influence, or Failure to Make
Lawful Disposition
of Marijuana or Analog:

a.  It is unlawful for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to possess, actually or
constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog, unless the
substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order form from a
practitioner, while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise
authorized by P.L.1970, c.226 (C.24:21-1 et seq.).  Any person who violates this section with
respect to:

(1)  A controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, classified in Schedule I, II, III or IV other
than those specifically covered in this section, is guilty of a crime of the third degree except
that, notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of N.J.S.2C:43-3, a fine of up to
$35,000.00 may be imposed;

(2)  Any controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, classified in Schedule V, is guilty of a
crime of the fourth degree except that, notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of
N.J.S.2C:43-3, a fine of up to $15,000.00 may be imposed;

(3)  Possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, or
more than five grams of hashish is guilty of a crime of the fourth degree, except that,
notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of N.J.S.2C:43-3, a fine of up to $25,000.00
may be imposed; or

(4)  Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, or five
grams or less of hashish is a disorderly person with penalties including a fine, loss of license,
probation and up to 180 days in jail.

Any person who commits any offense defined in this section while on any property used for
school purposes which is owned by or leased to any elementary or secondary school or
school board, or within 1,000 feet of any such school property or a school bus, or while on any
school bus, and who is not sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall, in addition to any other
sentence which the court may impose, be required to perform not less than 100 hours of
community service.

b.  Any person who uses or who is under the influence of any controlled dangerous
substance, or its analog, for a purpose other than the treatment of sickness or injury as
lawfully prescribed or administered by a physician is a disorderly person.

In a prosecution under this subsection, it shall not be necessary for the State to prove that the
accused did use or was under the influence of any specific drug, but it shall be sufficient for a
conviction under this subsection for the State to prove that the accused did use or was under
the influence of some controlled dangerous substance, counterfeit controlled dangerous
substance, or controlled substance analog, by proving that the accused did manifest physical
and physiological symptoms or reactions caused by the use of any controlled dangerous
substance or controlled substance analog.

c.  Any person who knowingly obtains or possesses a controlled dangerous substance or
controlled substance analog in violation of subsection a. of this section and who fails to
voluntarily deliver the substance to the nearest law enforcement officer is guilty of a disorderly
persons offense. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to preclude a prosecution or
conviction for any other offense defined in this title or any other statute.

2C:35-10.2  Possession, etc. of gamma hydroxybutyrate; penalties
4.  a.  It is a crime of the third degree for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to
possess, gamma hydroxybutyrate unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to
a valid prescription or order form from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his
professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by P.L.1970, c.226 (C.24:21-1 et
seq.).

b.  Notwithstanding the provisions of N.J.S.2C:43-3 or any other law, a fine of up to
$100,000.00 may be imposed upon a person who violates this section.

2C:35-10.3  Possession, etc. of flunitrazepam; penalties
6.  a.  It is a crime of the third degree for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to
possess, flunitrazepam, unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid
prescription or order form from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his professional
practice, or except as otherwise authorized by P.L.1970, c.226 (C.24:21-1 et seq.).

b.  Notwithstanding the provisions of N.J.S.2C:43-3 or any other law, a fine of up to
$100,000.00 may be imposed upon a person who violates this section.
H. SCOTT AALSBERG, ESQ., P.C.
ATTORNEYS AT LAW
The Aalsberg Building
39 Milltown Road, East Brunswick, N.J. 08816
1-800-9-RIGHTS or (732) 257-5040
EXPERIENCE   --   INTEGRITY   --   RESULTS
Don't Let this Happen to
You!
Call and Get Help Now
You Deserve the Best Defense For your NJ Marijuana Charge
It All Starts with a Free In Office Consultation 1-800-974-4487
Possession of Marijuana in New Jersey the Law Simplified:
Possession of Marijuana Under 50 Grams Standard Penalties:
a) Up to 180 Days in Jail
b) Up to 1000.00 Fine
c) Probation for a period determined by the court
d) Loss of Drivers License for 6 months
Possession of Marijuana Over 50 Grams Standard Penalties:
a) Up to 18 Months in Jail
b) Up to $7,500.00 to $25,000 Fine
c) Probation for a period determined by the court
d) Loss of Drivers License for 6 months
Possession of Marijuana Over 50 Grams generally is also charged
with Distribution of Marijuana which is a 3rd degree offense
subjecting the offender to:
a) 3 to 5 years in Jail
b) fine of up to $25,000.00
c) probation for a period determined by the court
d) Loss of Drivers License.
98% Success Rate To Win, Reduce
or Eliminate the Penalties on all NJ
Marijuana Charges
*98% Success Rate is based on past Marijuana Possession and Marijuana Distribution Charges under 5 Ounces and is not indicative of future results nor a guarantee of a particular outcome
in your case.  Please contact our office to setup a free evaluation of your particular case by calling 1-800-9-RIGHTS free consultations are offered during normal business hours.  Emergency
consultations and jail visits are offered 24 hours/7 days a week for all Marijuana Possession and Distribution Charges in NJ.                                     Copyright 2016 NJ Marijuana Lawyer HSA
Even if you don't go to jail, a conviction for Possession of Marijuana
can ruin your chances of getting that important job, deny your
admission to a graduate school and even raise your car and life
insurance rates!  You Can't fight your conviction after you go to
court, you must do this now when you are charged.  The sooner you
start your legal defense the better the result you will get.   With
Lawyer H. Scott Aalsberg you can be assured that you will get the
best defense for your Marijuana Drug Charge.  Recognized as one
of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers by the National Trial Lawyers
Association and Ranked one of the Top Ten Criminal Defense
Lawyers by the National Academy of Criminal Defense Lawyers, you
know that you will be represented by a lawyer who will not just plead
your case and take any deal just to make it go away. With Lawyer H.
Scott Aalsberg's 98% Success Rate of Winning, Reducing or
Eliminating the Charges for all Marijuana offenses, rest assured you
will have the best defense possible.  A free in office consultation is
only a phone call away and takes only minutes to setup, but you
must take that first step and get the help you need.  The call is free
the results could be priceless!
IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR THOSE
CHARGED WITH POSSESSION:
Charged with Possession of Marijuana in NJ?  Even if you did it, that does
not mean that your guilty!  Put one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100
Trial Lawyers to work for you and learn how even if your guilty that doesn't
mean that you can't get the best defense and Win your Marijuana Charge.
How to Win a Marijuana Charge in New Jersey:
Now that you have read our website its time to win. The best and
easiest way to win your NJ Marijuana Charge is to get the best
lawyer.  Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., has been ranked one of the
Top Ten Criminal Lawyers by the National Academy of Criminal
Defense Attorneys and Chosen by the National Trial Lawyers to be
one of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers.  Attorney Aalsberg and is rated as
a Top Criminal Lawyer with a perfect 10.0 score by AVVO lawyer
rating website. Lets Win: Call 1-800-9-RIGHTS
Possession of Marijuana in a Motor Vehicle (car etc) : NJSA 39:4-49.1
Subjects an offender to:
a) 2 years Loss of Drivers License
b) A Fine of at least $50.00 with a higher fine determined by the Judge
Additional Penalties Apply for any student applying for or receiving a Federal Student Loan
for a Possession of Marijuana Charge:  If a student is convicted, he/she loses eligibility for
federal aid for one year for the first offense, two years for the second offense and indefinitely
for the third.
Federal Student Loans and NJ Marijuana Possession Charges:
H. Scott Aalsberg, has been ranked One
of the Top Ten
NJ Criminal Defense
Lawyers by the National Academy of
Criminal Defense Attorneys.
Get the Best Defense
1-800-9-RIGHTS
No Aspect of this Website or
the Awards/Accolades
mentioned herein has been
approved by the Supreme
Court of NJ  
Click here for a
link on the selection
methodology of each award